From Chaos to Calm

Three things I’ve learned this week:

  • Feng Shui helps you plan your creative space more creatively
  • Decluttering is much easier when you take things out of context
  • Completely rethinking how you use large and small spaces is re-energising

Over the last two weeks I have rearranged my studio space twice.  Well, most of it.

I hadn’t stepped into my studio for weeks, except to open/close the curtains and dump stuff on my desk, and I didn’t have the energy or drive to do anything about it.  My headspace felt cluttered too, and I started to question what life would feel like if I gave up my art altogether.

Then this blog post from Anna Mason popped into my inbox. And a little research into Feng Shui for creative spaces took me to this gem of a post on Rogue Habits.  It’s a work in progress, but here’s my new studio layout:

Studio Calm

I was unsure about pushing my desk up to a wall, but the move to Abundance and Prosperity promised more of an adventure than infinite self-discovery in Wisdom and Self-Awareness.  Plus, the view of our back garden was a distraction when my desk was in the middle of the floor.  I’m now sitting in the most Eastern (and auspicious) point of our home, and there’s a mirror on my desk so I can see opportunity (and Mr C) approach.  There’s still lots of clutter to deal with (currently residing in our living room) but I’m already feeling brighter and creative ideas keep popping into my head.

I’m still not sure whether I believe in Feng Shui, but if it works, who am I to judge?

The post From Chaos to Calm first appeared on Filbert & Smudge.

Leave a Reply

