Consider it…

With my project list not showing any signs of slimming down, I felt inspired to sew last weekend.  Leaving the fabric laid over the arm of a chair for a couple of months had done nothing to fire up my enthusiasm.  However, last week’s post reminded me of my passion for sewing and was enough to motivate me to get out my sewing machine and start to make something.

It also felt good to focus on the process of making rather than anticipating the outcome. The movement of my new scissors as I cut my fabric.  The purr of my 25 year-old sewing machine as I stitch the seams.  The flow of my needle and thread as I hand-stitch my hems.  I’ve not quite finished my sewing project, but I’m still reflecting on the thrill of bringing together individual ingredients to make something new, rather than altering or mending clothes out of necessity.  And when I do return to my sewing machine, when my schedule allows it, consider it done.

The post Consider it… first appeared on Filbert & Smudge.

Leave a Reply

