Past Perfect

The first week of the New Year is drawing to a close, and I’m looking back at the last few days to see how things went.  I was tempted to ignore my sketchbook, thanks to a ripple of nerves.  But knowing regret for a missed opportunity feels much worse than a drawing that didn’t quite work out, I sat down to draw.

Sometimes we just have to remind ourselves that we’re allowed to make a mess of things.  Perfection isn’t necessary, and it certainly doesn’t come for free.  I have a little Post-it note above my desk that says…

post-it-note

…and sometimes that’s all it takes to get me reaching for a pencil as I open my sketchbook.

Do you have a particular word or phrase that you keep referring to when you need a pep talk?  Please share in a comment.

WordPress prompt: Tempted

The post Past Perfect first appeared on Filbert & Smudge.

One thought on “Past Perfect

Leave a Reply

