The Weight on My Shoulder

Art Prof November Dare 2016

When was the last time you emptied the contents of your daily baggage and considered why you’re still carrying so much stuff?

I challenge you to sift through your own carry-all just to remind yourself of what’s been weighing you down over the last few weeks, months, or even years. Whether your audit is a metaphorical or physical one, you may be surprised by the results.

It’s one thing to acknowledge your travel companions, but how long have you been travelling together without noticing each other? Did they join you as a convenience, or a just-in-case, or were they once a real necessity, now forgotten?

As someone who likes to clear out my own handbag on a regular basis, even I was surprised I’d been carrying so much around with me. So far, I’ve only managed to outline the contents for this month’s Art Prof Dare. I have an image in my head of how I’d like my final drawing to look, but as I remind myself to focus on the feel of the pencil in my hand while I draw the bits and bobs in front of me, it doesn’t matter whether or not I like the final result, I’ve bridged another creative gap by making another drawing.

WordPress Discover Challenge: Mind the Gap

The post The Weight on My Shoulder first appeared on Filbert & Smudge.

4 thoughts on “The Weight on My Shoulder

  1. I love this! I do the same thing with my daily purse sometimes and get annoyed at myself for these little “just-in-case” knick knacks that I don’t use. Good reminder to de-clutter and examine what you take with you all the time, metaphorically and literally. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

