Tampering with Evidence

Public speaking is a key part of my job, but there was a time when I absolutely hated it.  Despite having to deliver presentations throughout school, college and university, I dreaded standing up in front of a group of people to speak; I was so shy I was like jelly and blancmange (wobbly voice and a rosy face).  I ‘accidentally’ got over my fear while volunteering in a local primary school.

I’d accepted a five-week placement with Young Enterprise, delivering five one-hour lessons to a class of 30 seven- and eight-year-olds. What didn’t occur to me at the time was that it actually meant teaching them.  On my first visit the teacher invited me to sit at the front of the classroom, then the children sat down on the carpet and looked up at me.  They were silent.  That hour felt like a deep void, but I didn’t want any of them to know I was nervous, so I pretended I wasn’t.  And you know what, it actually worked!

Blank sketchbook pages can also trigger my nerves.  Less than a week to go and I still haven’t started my October Art Prof Art Dare: Your Future Self (a topic I’ve been writing about for weeks, without any clear progress, except for a slightly smaller wardrobe).  Maybe I should pretend I’m not nervous.  After all, it’s only a drawing…

WordPress prompt: Volunteer

The post Tampering with Evidence first appeared on Filbert and Smudge.

Leave a Reply

