Are You Ready to Jump?

“There’s only so much you can learn in one place.  The more that you wait, the more time that you waste.”

Jump by Madonna, Confessions on a Dancefloor

How do you make a decision when you’re indecisive?

Christmas Eve last year, I started a blog. I’d spent months brainstorming names, had my first post written, and a handful of ideas for a few more.  So, I signed up to WordPress, published my thoughts, and duly froze.

I began this New Year in a similar fashion. I had a motley list of creative and developmental goals, and my dormant blog was to be my accountability tool.  But I wasn’t sure I was jumping in the right direction, so my goals got pushed aside until I was ready to move on.

Three months later, I launched Filbert and Smudge. This time I had a clearer purpose for my writing, and fewer less-ambitious goals; just two in fact.  Now I’ve reached the six-month marker for Filbert and Smudge, I’ve been pondering what I really want to accomplish as a “prolific creative”.  This thought has surfaced as I reach Week 9 of the Colette Wardrobe Architect: The Capsule Wardrobe.  The first eight challenges focused on the analysis of evidence.  Facts.  Easy.  But now decisions need to be made, and I feel I’ve reached the same point on my creative path.

I think I’m ready to jump, but first I have to decide on the direction.

WordPress prompt: Jump

The post Are You Ready to Jump? first appeared on Filbert and Smudge.

Leave a Reply

