Art Mimics Life

I’ve unearthed my past, defined my core, explored individual shapes, and constructed silhouettes… all completed in order to overhaul my wardrobe. Developing a colour story is next, and this palette courtesy of The Designers Co-op (found via Colette WA week 5) is quite perfect for me.

As I work through the Colette Wardrobe Architect weekly prompts there is an obvious chasm between the person I would like to be and the person I actually portray.  Last time I asked myself whether my stagnation was due to fear, laziness, impatience or boredom, I was considering my recent drawing output.  The truth is I believe my identity as an artist/illustrator is tied into my personal image, so I need to consider the question again so I can understand the solution.

When I’m working from home, I’m conscious that I dress for quickness, comfort and practicality. I suppose I take a similar approach to my artwork.  I default to what I know, what I’m used to.  A familiar approach achieves a familiar outcome.  I fear regret, but I am also impatient – I want things to be accomplished before they’re even started.  Ridiculous, I know!  And maybe we should throw boredom in there too, just for fun.  If I default to the familiar, the boring stuff, I don’t have to acknowledge it, so I can perform in autopilot.  Not lazy, but the other three apply.

There’s an obvious solution to my fear, impatience and boredom, and it’s defined by architecture.

WordPress Prompt: Obvious

The post Art Mimics Life first appeared on Filbert and Smudge.

5 thoughts on “Art Mimics Life

Leave a Reply

