Clothing & Creativity (2)

How should an artist/illustrator dress for work? And why does it matter?

Back in April, I committed to my two New Year Resolutions: 1). to overhaul my wardrobe; and 2). to become prolifically creative. At the time I hadn’t realised how one could impact the other.  But as I question what is holding me back creatively, I’m beginning to understand how my clothes affect my mood, my confidence, and my creative output.

Some days I can throw on a sweatshirt and jeans and drawing comes naturally. I’m not really aware of what I’m wearing as I’m happy and comfortable.  I don’t need to worry about messing up my sweatshirt as I bought it for messing around in, although practicality wasn’t my only consideration when I bought it.

There are days when I need a confidence boost, and I’ll try on three or four different outfits before considering myself ready. The discarded clothes are a clue to how I’m feeling, so I hang them back up to remove the distraction and regain some order.  Hopefully, a wardrobe overhaul will leave me with fewer pieces to choose from, each one guaranteed to help me shine on a cloudy day.  And the less time I worry about what I’m wearing, the more creatively focussed I will be.

But how should I, as an artist/illustrator, dress for work? If my outfit can affect my mood, and therefore my work, do I need to dress as the person I’m striving to be?  If I experiment with my clothes, will I feel more inclined to experiment with my drawing?

I’m considering wearing my shoes when I’m in my home studio. They’ll remind me to not think about laundry when I’m making a mug of tea.  I might also wear my paint-splattered apron.  Just in case my husband doesn’t notice I’m wearing shoes.

The post Clothing and Creativity (2) first appeared on Filbert & Smudge.

2 thoughts on “Clothing & Creativity (2)

Leave a Reply

