I resolve to…

For the last three years, I have made (and kept) the same New Year resolution: to end the year with fewer possessions than I started it with. Simple to remember; quite easy to achieve.

Triggered by the intention to (eventually) move house, my idea was to reduce what we had to take with us, with the added benefit of clearing a few distractions.

You see, I’d like to be more actively creative, but my lack of creative focus, performance anxiety (not sure how else to describe it), and procrastination habit (resulting from distractions, lack of focus, and anxiety), have held me back for too long. I took comfort in owning stuff to learn from or create with. De-cluttering has helped me to clear some physical and mental space, and I’m gradually gaining my creative focus. With time, I aim to reinvent myself as the artist/illustrator I dreamed I would become many years ago.

At the moment, I don’t have a map to follow, and no particular destination in mind. This journey is about finding my way to a more creative life, seeking inspiration, exploring techniques, sharing my discoveries, and hopefully picking up a few tips en route.

So, back to those resolutions…

To aid my wardrobe overhaul, I’m following the Colette Patterns Wardrobe Architect project: “crafting a small wardrobe that reflects who you are”, and intend to donate, remodel and make some garments so my clothes reflect who I am today.

How I’m going to become prolifically creative is a little harder to explain, so our understanding of this will become clearer as I continue to write!

What have you been putting off doing?

The post I Resolve to… first appeared on Filbert & Smudge.

9 thoughts on “I resolve to…

Leave a Reply

